“You Know Gray Is My Favorite Color”

image

This is me before work this morning.  Tall wooly socks and a puffy coat. This is exactly what I wore when I was a nerdy sixth grader. I’m really happy that nineties style is big right now. I mean, I don’t really know what’s “big” right now, but I do know that the mannequins in the Urban Outfitters window displays I pass on my way to work have been looking pretty grungy for the past year or so and the combat boots I’ve been awkwardly rocking since high school don’t feel so awkward anymore. I was just a kid in the nineties, but the decade still shaped my sense of what’s cool more than any other. For example, “cool” will always be my default slang term of approval. When I think of comfort, I think of loose-fitting, straight-legged jeans, a baggy college t-shirt, and slouchy socks. When I think of road trip music, I think of Tom Petty. When I think about the only leading man I’ve ever loved, I think of Keanu. When I think about how much I love him, I think about that song from Jerry Maguire (which I have not seen because my family did not watch R-rated movies). I know it’s only a matter of time before visible socks become uncool again and I know this nineties fashion comeback does not make my obsession with the Counting Crows acceptable, but I’m embracing it anyway.

This entry was posted in Photo Friday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “You Know Gray Is My Favorite Color”

  1. DMgirl says:

    I use the word ‘cool’ in almost any situation! :-)

  2. bwcarey says:

    good taste never goes out of fashion, like the message of Jesus, love and love again, great image by the way, bless you

Leave a Reply

